2020 ASPL Committees and Objectives

Interested in joining a committee? Contact us for more information.

Sponsorship Committee

This committee works with the Board of Directors to maintain the fiscal strength and integrity of ASPL by managing and coordinating fundraising for ASPL including conference sponsorships and honoraria for designated awards presented by ASPL.

Michael Ghobrial, Co-Chair
Nick Gonzales, Co-Chair
Mark Boesen
Steve Gray
Ryan Hatfield
Joseph McHale
Jerry Moore
Elizabeth O'Keeffe
Edward Rickert
Lee Rosebush

1. Obtain sponsorship funds for ASPL Developments in Pharmacy Law Seminar XXXI in the amount of $70,000.
2. Identify new potential ways for sponsors to participate in ASPL.
3. Review benefits of sponsorship at each level for ASPL and other similar organizations.  Provide Board with recommendations that align ASPL with similar organizations.
4. Obtain funding for the Larry M. Simonsmeier Writing Award.  

Program and Education Committee

This committee has three subcommittees each with their specific charges.

Education Subcommittee:
This Subcommittee plans the educational content of ASPL conferences in close coordination with the other sub-committees.  Committee reviews proposed submissions and selects final presentations.  Committee may also recommends topics and recruit faculty.  Committee works with staff to assure faculty meets ASPL submission and CPE/CLE requirements.

Shannon Panther, Co-Chair
Archita Patel, Co-Chair

2020 Seminar Subcommittee Members
Don Bell
Gary Cacciatore
Christopher Dang
Luke Daniel
Nick Gonzales
Anthony Gray
Kim Grinston
Lori Hensic
Rick Irby
Julie Letwat
Eileen Lewinski
Debbie Mack
Justin Macy
Jennifer Mallon
Michael Moné
Todd Nova
Barbara Rowland
Mike Simko
William Stilling
Jonathan Swichar
Shannon Woods

2020 Webinar Subcommittee Members
Nicole Burgmeier
Ben DiMarco
Joseph Fielder
Keith Gibson
Gregory Kaupp
Debbie Mack
Natalia Mazina
Steffanie Mathewson
Tami Millner
Sweta Patel
Amy Poe
Marina Plotkin
Rodney Richmond
Chris Smith
Kristin Villa
Gregory Yen
Andy York
Anne Marie Youlio

1. Plan educational programming for ASPL Developments in Pharmacy Law Seminar XXXI in 2020. 
2. Plan educational programming for pharmacy law track for the annual APhA meeting in 2021. 
3. Plan educational programming for any other conferences in which ASPL may participate.
4. Ensure that all educational programming complies with continuing education requirements as identified by CE providers.
5. Review Cadmium process for collecting abstracts, speaker info and mobile app and make recommendations for improvements.
6. Identify potential new ways to reach ASPL members and others on programming offered by ASPL.  This content might include an evergreen webinar or a video that provides useful information on current topics related to law and policy. 
7. Creation of webinar topics & selection of speakers for quarterly presentations.

Pharmacy Law Educators Subcommittee:

This subcommittee plans the educational content of the Pharmacy Law Educators portion of ASPL conferences in close coordination with the other subcommittees and staff.  It recommends topics and recruits faculty.  Committee works with Staff to assure faculty meets ASPL submission and CPE/CLE requirements.

John Jones, Co-Chair
Ettie Rosenberg, Co-Chair
Jennifer Adams
Brian Gallagher
Cynthia Hall
Christopher Jadoch
Geoffrey Mospan
Rodney Richmond
Jim Ruble
Tera Lynn Rule
Michael Rumac

Robert Stein
Kristin Villa

1. Plan, recruit and oversee the presentation of the Pharmacy-Law Educators session at the Developments in Pharmacy Law Seminar XXXI. 
2. Maintain a list of each person who teaches pharmacy law in every U.S. school of pharmacy. 
3. Market publication of 2016 benchmarking survey white paper.
4. Compile and distribute results of 2018 benchmarking survey.

Scholarship Subcommittee:

This subcommittee coordinates the review and selection of recipients of ASPL’s various awards programs.

Jerry Muscheno, Co-Chair
Tera Lynne Rule, Co-Chair
Dick Abood
David Bobb
Anthony Gray
Frank Palumbo
William Stilling

1. Create the Ken Baker Memorial Student Scholarship eligibility and selection criteria for students to attend the ASPL Fall Seminar.
2. Review manner in which the opportunity to apply for the Larry M. Simonsmeier Writing Award and the Fink Family Scholarship are communicated.  Recommend ways to increase the reach of communication (e.g. send to law schools)
3. Review/update selection criteria for Fink Family Scholarship.
4. Select recipient for Larry M. Simonsmeier Writing Award to be awarded at the Annual Meeting/Developments in Pharmacy Law Seminar XXXI
5. Select recipient for 2020 Fink Family Scholarship to be awarded at the Annual Meeting/Developments in Pharmacy Law Seminar XXXI
6. Select recipient for 2020 Fink Award to be awarded at the Annual Meeting/Developments in Pharmacy Law Seminar XXXI.

Communications, Member Relations and Marketing Committee

This committee oversees ASPL’s publications, website, membership marketing, member services and outreach to other organizations.

Marty Dix, Co-Chair
Mike Simko, Co-Chair
Ben DiMarco
Ronald Friedman
Anthony Gray
Blake Griese
Greg Kaupp
Natalia Mazina
Tera Lynn Rule
Larry Selkow
Monet Stanford
Kristin Villa
Jon Wallace
Andy York

1. Review and propose updates to membership brochure and ASPL website as needed.
2. Assist editor with RX Ipsa Loquitur and Pharma Law E-News by identifying potential articles/topics.
3. Review marketing plan to increase membership by identifying new groups of attorneys and pharmacists for recruitment (e.g., in-house compliance officers, enforcement attorneys such as assistant attorneys general, teachers of pharmacy law).
4. Review current member services to assess their value.
5. Identify potential new member service(s) to increase understanding and engagement of pharmacy law and practice.
6. Coordinate outreach efforts to establish positive relationships with similar organizations.


Finance and Audit Committee

This committee oversees ASPL’s financial filing requirements and proposes financial policies as needed.

Charles Hartig, Co-Chair
David Bobb, Co-Chair
James Boyd
Laura Carpenter
Denise Grank

1. Insure 2019 audit is completed in a timely manner.
2. Insure 990 Taxes are filed in a timely manner.
3. Propose financial reserve and investment policies as needed.